The following table lists the locations of Society for German-American Studies annual symposia since 1977, as well as the winners of Outstanding Achievement Awards. The award is presented at the annual symposium to an individual who has distinguished him- or herself in the field of German-American Studies. Click here for more information on the award and nomination criteria.

YearLocationOutstanding Achievement Award
1977Baldwin-Wallace College (Berea, OH) -
1978Baldwin-Wallace College (Berea, OH) -
1979St. Olaf College (Northfield, MN) -
1980Univ. of Missouri, Columbia (Columbia, MO)Robert E. Ward, Youngstown State Univ. (Meritorious Achievement)
1981Institute for Texan Cultures (San Antonio, TX)Adolf E. Schroeder, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia AND LaVern J. Rippley, St. Olaf College
1982Fort Hays State Univ. (Hays, KS) -
1983Univ. of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) -
1984Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, WI) -
1985Univ. of Nebraska (Lincoln, NE)J. Anthony “Toni” Burzle,University of Kansas
1986Univ. of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)Adolf E. Schroeder, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia
1987Univ. of Kansas (Lawrence, KS)Lester W. J. “Smoky” Seifert, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1988Millersville Univ. (Millersville, PA)Don Yoder, Univ. of Pennsylvania
1989Northeastern Illinois Univ. (Chicago, IL)Paul Schach, Univ. of Nebraska
1990Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. (Indianapolis, IN)John A. Hostetler, Temple Univ.
1991Georgetown Univ. (Washington, DC)Günther Moltmann, Universität Hamburg
1992Univ. of Kansas (Lawrence, KS)Hildegard Binder-Johnson, Macalester College
1993Univ. of Texas (Austin, TX)Robert E. Ward, Youngstown State Univ.(Special Award)
1994Pennsylvania State Univ. (State College, PA)C. Richard Beam, Millersville State Univ.
1994aSpecial Symposium (Davenport, IA)
1996Univ. of Wisconsin (Madison, WI)Willi Paul Adams, Freie Universität Berlin
1997Univ. of Missouri, St. Louis (St. Louis, MO)Helmut E. Huelsbergen, Univ. of Kansas
1998Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. (Indianapolis, IN)Robert E. Cazden, Univ. of Kentucky
1999St. Olaf College (New Ulm, MN)Bradford Miller and Gary Grassl, German Heritage Society of Greater Washington, DC
2000BremerhavenAntonius Holtmann, Universität Oldenburg AND Dirk Schroeder, Bremen, Germany (Special Award)
2001Grand Valley State Univ. (Grand Rapids, MI)Lisa Kahn, Texas Southern Univ. AND Ilse Hoffmann, Steuben Society of America (Special Award)
2002Scott Community College (Amana, IA)Guy Stern, Wayne State Univ.
2003Loyola College in Maryland (Baltimore, MD)Steven Rowan, Univ. of Missouri-St. Louis
2004St. Olaf College (New Ulm, MN)The City of New Ulm, Minnesota
2005Grand Valley State Univ. (Grand Rapids, MI)Leo Schelbert, Univ. of Illinois-Chicago AND William and Mary Seeger, Grand Valley State Univ. (Special Award)
2006Kutztown Univ. (Lancaster, PA)Christoph E. Schweitzer, Univ. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2007Univ. of Kansas (Lawrence, KS)Don Heinrich Tolzmann, University of Cincinnati
2008Univ. of Virginia & William and Mary College (Williamsburg, VA)Gerhard Weiss, Univ. of Minnesota-Twin Cities
2009St. Olaf College (New Ulm, MN)Frank Trommler, Univ. of Pennsylvania
2010New Harmony, INFrederick C. Luebke, Univ. of Nebraska
2011Univ. of Delaware & Winterthur Estate and Museum (Newark/Wilmington, DE)Alexander Ritter, Universität Hamburg AND LaVern J. Rippley, St. Olaf College (Special Award)
2012Univ. of Kansas (Lawrence, KS)Helmut J. Schmeller, Fort Hays State Univ.
2013The Historic New Orleans Collection (New Orleans, LA)Dolores and Giles Hoyt, Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.-Indianapolis
2014Milwaukee, WIReinhard R. Doerries, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
2015St. Louis, MOKathleen Neils Conzen, Univ. of Chicago
2016San Antonio, TXWilliam D. Keel, Univ. of Kansas
2017Philadelphia, PAWolfgang Helbich, Ruhr Universität-Bochum
2018Indiana Historical Society (Indianapolis, IN)Jerry Glenn, Univ. of Cincinnati
2019Madison, WIMark Louden, Max Kade Institute, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
2020Washington D.C. (Cancelled)