Online Registration and Hotel Information Now Available. Click here to be redirected to the registration page.

Call for Papers

The Society for German-American Studies will hold its 44th Annual Symposium in Georgetown, a historic neighborhood of Washington, D.C., April 23–25, 2020.

Symposium theme and how to submit a proposal:

“Germans in the Americas: Social, Scientific, and Cultural Encounters”

A thematic focus of the Symposium will be on individuals and groups from German-speaking lands and their descendants, their contact and collaboration with others, and their resulting impact on life in the Americas, both past and present. We invite presentations concerning social and political structures, theoretical and practical science, education, religion, language, the arts, and more.

However, as is our tradition, we also accept proposals dealing with other aspects of German-American studies, including comparative topics with a German-American component.

Membership in the Society for German-American Studies is required of those whose papers are presented. Jointly authored proposals are welcome, but only the names of authors who are present at the Symposium will be listed in the program.

Please submit to Cora Lee Kluge an abstract of your proposed presentation (not more than 250 words), preferably in electronic form, by January 2, 2020. Include your paper title, your full name as you wish it to appear in the program, your email address, your complete mailing address, and your academic affiliation, if any.

Email address:   Cora Lee Kluge <>  Please include SGAS in the subject line.

Postal address:

Cora Lee Kluge, President
Society for German-American Studies
121 South Owen Drive
Madison, WI 53705


Graduate Student Grants

If you are a graduate student and are interested in applying for one of the four $750 Graduate Student Symposium Grants, please have a look at the bottom of the grants page.


SGAS Outstanding Achievement Award

The Society for German-American Studies has established an award which is given each year to an individual who has distinguished him- or herself in the field of German-American Studies. Honorees are celebrated each year at the Annual Meeting and Symposium.

The membership of the Society for German-American Studies is invited to nominate individuals of merit. Nominations should be directed to the chair of the Nominations Committee no later than September of the year prior to the one for which the individual is nominated. The Nominations Committee will forward all nominations to the president for review at the fall meeting of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will select the awardee.

Achievement in the context of the award is broadly defined. The honoree may have published significant research in the field, may have served the Society and the field of German-American Studies in an outstanding fashion, or may otherwise have made an outstanding contribution to the field.

Awardees will be encouraged to attend the annual symposium to receive the award. All awardees will be awarded a Life Membership in the Society for German-American Studies. The Society will cover the housing and registration expenses of those who participate in the annual symposium.

Nominations for the Outstanding Achievement Award should be forwarded to the chair of the Nominations Committee no later than September 1 of a given year for consideration for the following year. All nominations should include a letter which specifies the reasons why the nominator feels the award is justified as well as a short précis of the nominee’s accomplishments.

The current chair of the Nominations Committee is Walter D. Kamphoefner