Previous Symposia and Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

The Society for German-American Studies has established an award which is given each year to an individual who has distinguished him- or herself in the field of German-American Studies. Honorees are celebrated each year at the Annual Meeting and Symposium. Achievement in the context of the award is broadly defined. The honoree may have published significant research in the field, may have served the Society and the field of German-American Studies in an outstanding fashion, or may otherwise have made an outstanding contribution to the field.


Nr. Year Location Outstanding Achievement Award
1 1977 Baldwin-Wallace College
(Berea, OH)
2 1978 Baldwin-Wallace College
(Berea, OH)
3 1979 St. Olaf College
(Northfield, MN)
4 1980 Univ. of Missouri, Columbia
(Columbia, MO)
Robert E. Ward, Youngstown State Univ. (Meritorious
5 1981 Institute for Texan Cultures
(San Antonio, TX)
Adolf E. Schroeder, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia AND LaVern J. Rippley, St. Olaf College
6 1982 Fort Hays State Univ.
(Hays, KS)
7 1983 Univ. of Pennsylvania
(Philadelphia, PA)
8 1984 Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
(Madison, WI)
9 1985 Univ. of Nebraska
(Lincoln, NE)
J. Anthony “Toni” Burzle,University of Kansas
10 1986 Univ. of Cincinnati
(Cincinnati, OH)
Adolf E. Schroeder, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia
11 1987 Univ. of Kansas
(Lawrence, KS)
Lester W. J. “Smoky” Seifert, University of Wisconsin-Madison
12 1988 Millersville Univ.
(Millersville, PA)
Don Yoder, Univ. of Pennsylvania
13 1989 Northeastern Illinois Univ.
(Chicago, IL)
Paul Schach, Univ. of Nebraska
14 1990 Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.
(Indianapolis, IN)
John A. Hostetler, Temple Univ.
15 1991 Georgetown Univ.
(Washington, DC)
Günther Moltmann, Universität Hamburg
16 1992 Univ. of Kansas
(Lawrence, KS)
Hildegard Binder-Johnson, Macalester College
17 1993 Univ. of Texas
(Austin, TX)
Robert E. Ward, Youngstown State Univ.(Special Award)
18 1994 Pennsylvania State Univ.
(State College, PA)
C. Richard Beam, Millersville State Univ.
1994a Special Symposium
(Davenport, IA)
19 1995 Univ. of Louisville
(Louisville, KY)
Ruth and Eberhard Reichmann, Indiana Univ.
20 1996 Univ. of Wisconsin
(Madison, WI)
Willi Paul Adams, Freie Universität Berlin
21 1997 Univ. of Missouri, St. Louis
(St. Louis, MO)
Helmut E. Huelsbergen, Univ. of Kansas
22 1998 Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.
(Indianapolis, IN)
Robert E. Cazden, Univ. of Kentucky
23 1999 St. Olaf College
(New Ulm, MN)
Bradford Miller and Gary Grassl, German Heritage Society of
Greater Washington, DC
24 2000 Bremerhaven Antonius Holtmann, Universität Oldenburg AND Dirk Schroeder, Bremen, Germany (Special Award)
25 2001 Grand Valley State Univ.
(Grand Rapids, MI)
Lisa Kahn, Texas Southern Univ. AND Ilse Hoffmann, Steuben Society of America (Special Award)
26 2002 Scott Community College
(Amana, IA)
Guy Stern, Wayne State Univ.
27 2003 Loyola College in Maryland
(Baltimore, MD)
Steven Rowan, Univ. of Missouri-St. Louis
28 2004 St. Olaf College
(New Ulm, MN)
The City of New Ulm, Minnesota
29 2005 Grand Valley State Univ.
(Grand Rapids, MI)
Leo Schelbert, Univ. of Illinois-Chicago AND William and Mary Seeger, Grand Valley State Univ. (Special Award)
30 2006 Kutztown Univ.
(Lancaster, PA)
Christoph E. Schweitzer, Univ. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
31 2007 Univ. of Kansas
(Lawrence, KS)
Don Heinrich Tolzmann, University of Cincinnati
32 2008 Univ. of Virginia & William and Mary College
(Williamsburg, VA)
Gerhard Weiss, Univ. of Minnesota-Twin Cities
33 2009 St. Olaf College
(New Ulm, MN)
Frank Trommler, Univ. of Pennsylvania
34 2010 New Harmony, IN Frederick C. Luebke, Univ. of Nebraska
35 2011 Univ. of Delaware & Winterthur Estate and Museum
(Newark/Wilmington, DE)
Alexander Ritter, Universität Hamburg AND LaVern J. Rippley, St. Olaf College (Special Award)
36 2012 Univ. of Kansas
(Lawrence, KS)
Helmut J. Schmeller, Fort Hays State Univ.
37 2013 The Historic New Orleans Collection
(New Orleans, LA)
Dolores and Giles Hoyt, Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.-Indianapolis
38 2014 Milwaukee, WI Reinhard R. Doerries, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
39 2015 St. Louis, MO Kathleen Neils Conzen, Univ. of Chicago
40 2016 San Antonio, TX William D. Keel, Univ. of Kansas
41 2017 Philadelphia, PA Wolfgang Helbich, Ruhr Universität-Bochum
42 2018 Indiana Historical Society
(Indianapolis, IN)
Jerry Glenn, Univ. of Cincinnati
43 2019 Madison, WI Mark Louden, Max Kade Institute, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
44 2020 Washington D.C. (Canceled)