Online Election for the 2019-2021 Executive Committee officers begins May 13, 2019

Click here to view the biographical information for each candidate.

Executive Committee Officers

Steven Rowan
Univ. of Missouri, St. Louis
Vice President
Cora Lee Kluge
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Achim Kopp
Mercer Univ.
Bärbel Such
Ohio Univ.


Membership Coordinator
North America

Karyl Rommelfanger
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Membership Coordinator

Katja Hartmann
Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit


Yearbook Editor
William D. Keel
Univ. of Kansas, Lawrence
Newsletter Editor
Joshua Brown
Univ. of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Book Review Editor
Marc Pierce
University of Texas-Austin
Website Manager
Michael Rice
Middle TN State Univ.

Appointed Committees


The Nominating Committee seeks candidates for the annual Outstanding Achievement Award and for the biennial officer election.

William H. Roba (2015-18)
Scott Community College
Alison Efford (2016-19)
Marquette Univ.
Walter D. Kamphoefner (2017-20)
Texas A&M Univ.

Karl J.R. Arndt Publication Fund

The committee evaluates applications for financial support to publish scholarly research on the German element in the context of the culture and society of the Americas.

William Keel, (ex-officio) chair
Univ. of Kansas, Lawrence
Marc Pierce (2016-19)
The Univ. of Texas at Austin
William E. Petig (2017-20)
Stanford Univ.

Albert Bernhardt Faust Research Fund

The committee evaluates applications for financial support to conduct research in the field of German-American Studies as defined by the Society.

Mark Louden (2016-18), chair
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Timothy Anderson (2016-19)
Ohio Univ.
Karen Roesch (2017-20)
Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.

Friends of the German Historical Institute

Sandra Rebok (2017-20)
The Huntington Library
Steven Rowan (2017-20)
Univ. of Missouri, St. Louis

Semi-Centennial Celebration

William H. Roba
Scott Community College
N.N. N.N.